Dr. Robert Schwartz earns 2011 Advisor of the Year award

2011 Advisor of the Year Award

IAEM-USA President Eddie Hicks, left, presents Dr. Schwartz's Advisor of the Year award to Brian Crisan.

We’re proud to announce that our faculty advisor, Dr. Robert M. Schwartz, has been named the 2011 Advisor of the Year by the IAEM Student Council Awards Committee.  A designee accepted the award on behalf of Dr. Schwartz this morning at the IAEM-USA 59th Annual Conference & EMEX at the Rio Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada.

“For the past several years, Dr. Robert Schwartz has been a key part of the success of The University of Akron’s (UA) chapter of IAEM,” the nomination reads.  Among many things, the nomination highlights Schwartz’s efforts at coordinating such things as IAEM’s participation in a functional exercise at the Cleveland Clinic last summer and a tour of the Ohio Emergency Management Agency last spring, his efforts to keep students informed about emergency management job opportunities, and his recruitment of faculty participation in our group’s fundraising activities.

“His approach as an advisor gives our group enough latitude to work independently, but provides us with enough guidance to keep us on track,” the nomination reads.  “His commitment to the success of our group has been clear from the start and his guidance has been invaluable to the continued success of our chapter.”

Dr. Schwartz joined the faculty of Summit College at The University of Akron during the Fall 2007 semester.  He also currently serves as the Director of the University’s Center for Emergency Management and Homeland Security Policy Research (CEMHSPR).  He previously served as Associate Professor and Department Head of Emergency Administration and Management at Arkansas Tech University, and as Assistant Professor in the Department of Geography at Ball State University.  He also served as President of Schwartz Construction Inc, of Clearwater, Florida.  He earned his B.A. from The University of Florida at Gainesville, his M.S. in Geosciences at Mississippi State University, and his Ph.D. at Kent State University.

This entry was posted in awards, IAEM-SR-USA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s